The Flag of Australia 101: Where to Purchase it

The Flag of Australia 101: Where to Purchase it

Australia’s iconic symbols are the emu, the kangaroo, the boomerang, and the Sydney Opera House. So, what about our national flag of Australia? Most countries use their national colours in their flag, but not Australia. Instead, they will use the national colours (the vibrant gold, and green)colour in the sport and elsewhere. Unlike the flags of other countries, the Australian flag is designed by the stirs pride, and symbolism in Australians, old, and young alike. However, to purchase Perth flags or flags, contact the leading dealer for the quality products.

The Star of the Federation – Commonwealth Star

The Commonwealth Star is the symbol of the Australian Federation. This star consists of 7 branches which each have a meaning. The first 6 branches correspond to the 6 states existing when the Australian Federation was created in 1901. The 7th represents future states.

Because originally the Commonwealth Star had only 6 branches (the 6 states). But in 1905 the territory of Papua was created. A 7th branch was then added in 1908 to represent the future states.

This star is not present only on the Australian flag but on many other symbols such as the badges of the army or the federal police but also many medals of distinctions.

The Southern Cross

The Southern Cross is a famous constellation that can be seen in the Southern Hemisphere. This symbol is not only present on the Australian flag. Indeed you can find them, among others, on the flag of Brazil or New Zealand. If before, these stars had 5 to 9 branches, today the 4 largest have 7 branches and the smallest has only 5.

The Flag Act

The constitution of the flag of Australia obeys a law on flags passed in 1953 called the Flags Act. This law passed by the Australian Parliament indicates precisely how the different flags of Australia should be made up.

The flag act accurately indicates the colours and details of the flag.

This law allows the Governor-General to adopt the flag of Australia. In 1998 the Flags Amendment Act was passed. This amendment allows the Australian flag to be changed only if there is a majority of voters in the various states and territories who give their consent.

This law also applies to the national flag of the Australian Merchant Navy.

A bit of history on the Australian flag

Before Australia became a federal state, the most used flag was the Union Flag. But as the date for the creation of the federation approached, the country had to choose a federal flag.

A competition to designate the federal flag

Once the federation was created, the government decided to launch a competition to elect the federal flag. This competition was very successful since approximately 32,000 responses were received.

According to Evans’ book The history of the Australian flag, the selection criteria were:

  • loyalty to the empire
  • the Federation
  • the story
  • heraldry
  • uniqueness
  • utility
  • the manufacturing cost

The new flag was born at the Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne.

In 1902, the flag was simplified by King Edward VII by modifying the stars of the southern cross by increasing the number of branches to 7 for the 4 large and to 5 for the small.

Red, White and Blue Colour With 6 Stars

Related Article:  Read These Easy Tips To Plan Your Wedding Day

Even after their independence in 190, Australia remains a member of the Commonwealth. And, the British union flag design remains in the Australia national flag. As a result, we got red, white and blue colour with six stars in the Australia flag. And later extra one starts, which make the count of starts as seven in Australia flag. The seven stars stand for the Southern Cross constellation that becomes a symbol of Australia themselves. That stars are also called as commonwealth stars.

Australia 7 Colonies That Remains as Starts

  • Papua New Guinea
  • South Australia
  • Northern Territory 
  • Western Australia
  • Victoria
  • Queensland

Australia National colours That Are in Sport

Now, probably, your question may be “why are Australia’s colours in sport always gold and green?” Australia’s national sports team’s uniforms are gold and green since the late 1800s. This is because, the colour gold conjures images of the fleece of Australian wool, Australia’s grain harvests, mineral wealth, and the beaches. And the colour green holds a treasured place in the Australian imagination. Also, the national colours have a strong environmental connection and are long associated with Australian sporting achievements. 

Sports Teams with gold and Green 

  1. The Australian Outback Gridiron Team
  2. The Wizards of Aus Australian men’s roller derby team
  3. Team Australia on UFC The Smashes The Ultimate Fighter: The Smashes
  4. The Australia national baseball team
  5. The Mighty Roos
  6. TheHockeyroos
  7. The Kookaburras 
  8. The Opals 
  9. The Boomers 
  10. TheMatildas
  11. the Socceroos
  12. The Diamonds 
  13. The Wallaroos
  14. The Jillaroos
  15. The Kangaroos 
  16. The Kangaroos 
  17. The Australian Summer Olympics team
  18. The Australia cricket team 

The Bottom Line

Related Article:  How to Fix No Wireless Connection issues While New Extender Setup

So, are you looking to purchase Australia national flag or national colour flag for sports? Consider contact Tudor House to make a knowledgeable purchase on flags and flag Poles in Perth!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *